The South East Australian Transport Strategy Inc (SEATS) aims to stimulate and facilitate investment in transport infrastructure in south eastern New South Wales, eastern Victoria and the ACT Region.  Members of SEATS include local government, regional development organizations, government agencies, regional industry and academics.  The SEATS region is in a triangle to the east of a line linking the NSW City of Wollongong to the north, the Victorian City of Greater Dandenong to the south and the Cooma, Bombala, Tumut and Tumbarumba areas, the  ACT and Yass, Goulburn and Crookwell to the west.

South Eastern Australia is rich in primary resources, has a skilled labour force and a wealth of natural assets. Inadequate transport infrastructure is impeding orderly development with hundreds of millions of dollars of identified investment being withheld from the region.  Limited access is reducing the returns for existing businesses.  Independent consultants report that key transport improvements could generate many millions of dollars worth of new investment.  SEATS members have developed the South East Australian Transport Strategy.  The Strategy is a comprehensive review of the measures necessary to improve transport and access to Gippsland, Western Port, the Snowy Mountains, Yass Valley, Goulburn and Crookwell areas, the Illawarra region, the south coast of New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory region.

In all there are some one and a half million people living and working in the region covered by SEATS.  The operations of SEATS are guided by a Business and Marketing Plan to generate broad awareness of the issues relating to the development of transport infrastructure, to promote the benefits of such development  and communicate the work of SEATS members by improving access to decision makers and by providing information.

Members of SEATS

AECOM: ATA NSW; Bass Coast Shire; Baw Baw Shire; Bega Cheese; Bega Valley Shire; Bombala Shire; Bransgrove Transport; Cooma-Monaro Shire; Dyers Gippsland Transport; East Gippsland Shire; Eurobodalla Shire; Far South Coast RDA Committee;Gippsland Ports; Goulburn Mulwaree Council; Latrobe City; GHD-Morwell; Murray Goulburn Group;  NRMA; NSW Roads and Maritime Services(RMS); Port Kembla Port Corporation; Port of Hastings Development Authority; Port of Melbourne Corporation; Roads ACT; Softwoods Working Group; Southern Inland RDA Committee; Palerang Council; RDA Illawarra: Queanbeyan City Council; RDA ACT; Sanmarc Consulting; SDH Pty Ltd; Shoalhaven City Council; Shellharbour City Council; Snowy River Shire; Softwoods Working Group; South East Truck Safety Committee South East Region of Councils (SEROC);: South Gippsland Shire; Southern Councils Group (NSW) ; Tumbarumba Shire Council; Tumut Shire; Upper Lachlan Shire; VicRoads; VicTracks; Wellington Shire; Woollondilly Shire Council; Wollongong City Council; Yass Valley Council

Associate members:

Contact details:

SEATS Executive Officer  

John Duscher
36 Turner street
Wonthaggi Vic 3995

Ph 03 5672 1072
Mobile 0488 026 435